February Reflections

20160207_132239

It’s been a week of reflection, reinterpretation, reinvention, remaking. It’s been stop-start. I’ve had to apply my artistic ingenuity to the problem of responding to work which is nothing like my own. I have been musing over whether to attempt a more sparse, minimalist style, like that in my February book; it is, after all, not a bad thing to get outside your comfort zone and try something new.

I have solved the problem (I think) by drawing out the elements which interested me in Ben’s images – lines, shapes, neutral colour – and incorporating them into my own work. Line and shape are elements I regularly use, and I have responded to the muted colours with some pieces made in recycled paper collage; I am fascinated by found paper materials – old books, packing materials, textured papers, wallpaper samples and the like. Then I decided to throw caution to the wind and made some pages incorporating bold and bright elements to counterbalance the neutral colours. I have also had some help from my daughter, who is fascinated by the Sketchbook Circle experience and loves it when we receive new work through the post. She was very proud to make a contribution to this month’s work!

I’m excited to have some events coming up in the next few weeks too – my daughter and I are planning to go to the Sketch Coventry event next weekend, and I’m also booked onto the Practice Imperfect event at the School of Art in Birmingham. I’m very much looking forward to meeting up with other artist educators, getting some new ideas, taking my own practice in new directions, and making new connections.

 

2 thoughts on “February Reflections

Leave a Reply

