Busy Days

20160213_151616

This week has been one of exciting new challenges and beginnings.

Firstly, I have found (through one of my followers) and signed up for the Documented Life Project; this project is about art journaling, and I’ve been enjoying documenting and doodling some of the elements of my daily life. It’s fascinating how the dull humdrum details take on new interest when I start to record them in my sketchbook; it’s also a very therapeutic thing to do at the end of the day, and helps me to unwind and let my brain relax and empty, rather like pulling the plug out in the bath. At the moment it feels very different from my ‘usual’ sort of thing, but it’s a challenge which I’m enjoying; documenting aspects of my life gives me the opportunity to use a more illustrative style as opposed to my usual more abstract, organic way of working.

Secondly, my daughter, my mum and I put on our thermal layers and braved the February cold to go out urban sketching at the Sketch Coventry event this weekend. Getting out of the comfort of my home studio and drawing out in public was quite a big thing for me; I have done it before, but it’s not something I’ve ever felt very comfortable with. This time, however, I found I didn’t particularly care; people walked past and glanced over at us, but didn’t pay us any particular attention, and I found it easier to just get out my sketchbook and get on with it. I think it’s probably a confidence thing; my confidence in myself and in my artistic abilities has grown enormously over the past couple of years, to the point where I now happily tell people that I am an artist first and foremost (albeit with a day job to pay the rent). I’m not overwhelmingly pleased with my sketches, but I thoroughly enjoyed the experience and fully intend to repeat it, both at other urban sketching events and on my own. And after all, in the words of Picasso, unless your painting goes wrong, it will be no good.

4 thoughts on “Busy Days

  1. Big respect for sketching in the wild! I am hampered by the fear that people will think I should be better than I am. It’s daft, I know. Confidence is a great thing but courage is greater 🙂

    Like

  2. Well done Tilly – getting out there and doing it! I am struggling with my sketchbook work at the mo because of too many things getting in the way. I suspect I may have to take on guerrilla tactics and just draw everything I see instead of worrying about it all too much x

    Like

    1. Thanks Fiona! That’s a good idea actually – I think I need to draw more while I’m at work as well as in my own time 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

