More Physical Drawing

Today I have been doing some more large scale physical drawing on lining paper. This time I used well watered down acrylic paint as I wanted to be able to continue exploring large, sweeping, gestural marks. I really enjoyed the physical extension that the paintbrushes gave to my arms (I used both hands again), allowing me to stand back and use my whole body. I had to move the table and the furniture to get right around the painting! I had to submit to happenstance, as the watered down paint and the sweeping nature of the mark making meant quite alot of splashes and unpredictability – I found it both exciting and liberating to relinquish control of the outcome; I particularly enjoy working in this fluid and intuitive way.

Leave a Reply

