January Books

I’m on a bit of a book theme at the moment. I’ve made some small books for my first Sketchbook Circle exchange of 2017, the idea being that Mary and I will create a series of books over the year, adapting the size and format to suit the developing conversation.

I’m also making books to explore ideas I’m following in my own practice; I’ve constructed a ‘drawing contraption’ which allows me to fix a mark-making tool and a book to my bag in order to capture my own movement as I walk. 

I find constructing books oddly satisfying. I love the process of selecting and cutting paper; the physical involvement through the use of hand tools; the imperfect charm of the finished item. I am fascinated by the almost infinite possible formats and have been repurposing old book covers, CD covers and different types of paper. I’ve always had a bit of a notebook fetish.

One thought on “January Books

Leave a Reply

