White Noise

The last week of term is finally upon us; I am so tired that I can’t read, I can’t write, and the only drawings I have been able to make are the repetitively soothing line drawings that Yvonne J Foster, artist and writer on Disability Arts Online calls brain landscapes. I like this term. It aptly describes the mental white noise that the drawings both convey and help to alleviate; like the static when the TV aerial is disconnected. 

I have hit the wall. Actually, I hit the wall a couple of weeks ago, and I have been dragging myself around in a complete daze; it’s a small miracle that I and my daughter are still in one piece.

On a more upbeat note, we will be installing the final exhibition of work for this year’s Artist Teacher Scheme at Birmingham City University. The exhibition will be in the first floor corridor of New Art Gallery Walsall from Friday 28th July until the end of September (Private View – Friday 28th July 6-8pm) and will feature work by myself, and fellow students Loiuse Blakeway and Sarah Williams. 

After that I will be relaxing for the long summer holiday with my pile of books, and grant application forms for new projects…

Leave a Reply

